holiday celebrations | days & dates | fun & wacky daily holidays | holiday travel | holiday blog | holiday greeting cards | holiday recipes | holiday crafts | email

The 5 Days of Diwali

Diwali is the five-day Hindu holiday known as "the Festival of Lights".

Homes, businesses, cities and country sides are illuminated in the glow of candles, oil lamps and even firework displays during this festive time. In addition, each of the five days of the festival is marked with its own unique traditions and mythology.

Day 1: Dhanteras

In many regions of India and other Hindu nations, the first day of Diwali is marked by a holiday called Dhanteras. At sunset, Hindus bathe and offer a diya (lighted oil lamp) to Yama Raj, the Lord of Death, for protection from an untimely death.

Homes and business are decorated with diyas and kandils (colorful paper lanterns). Many also offer a fire ritual for good health and strength in the coming year.

Day 2: Choti Diwali

On the second day of Diwali, the focus is on worshipping Kali, the goddess of Strength. Special emphasis is also placed on abolishing evil and, particularly, laziness.

Day 3: Lakshmi Puja / Diwali

The third day of Diwali is the highlight of the festival, when families light their oil lamps, symbolizing the illumination of knowledge. It is on this day that the Goddess Laskhmi is worshipped, calling on her to bring wealth and prosperity, and to triumph over evil and darkness.

Day 4: Padwa & Govardhan Puja

On the fourth day of Diwali, there is a tradition to settle old accounts and start new books. These new books are worshipped in a special ceremony, during which Hindus focus on eliminating jealousy and anger from their lives.

Day 5: Bhai Duj

The final day of Diwali is known as Bhai Duj. On this day, brothers and sisters exchange gifts as tokens of their love and as a hope for one another's safe-keeping. There is also a focus on seeing the good in everyone on the last day of the festival -- even in one's enemies.

More information:
Day 1: Dhanteras
Day 2: Choti Diwali
Day 3: Lakshmi Puja / Diwali
Day 4: Padwa & Govardhan Puja
Day 5: Bhai Duj

Like this article?

Related Articles:
Holi - The Hindu Festival of Colors
Diyas - Lighting the Way to Diwali
Diwali Day 02: Choti Diwali - Narak Chaturdashi
The Different Spellings of Diwali
When is Diwali?

Add Comment
Govind Singh from Fiji
16:10 10/19/2011
I love this site,Do you have hindi version,its very interesting.

Diwali Home | Did You Know? | When Is Diwali? | Diwali The Festival Of Lights | Origins of Diwali
5 Days of Diwali | Dhanteras | Choti Diwali | Lakshmi Puja | Padwa & Govardhan Puja | Bhai Duj
Spelling of Diwali | Diyas / Oil Lamps | Diyas & Diwali | The Hindu Religion | 4 Central Beliefs | Dharma
Samsara | Karma | Moksha | Gods/Hindu Trinity | Brahma | Vishnu | Lakshmi | Shiva

Hindu Holidays | Holi | Did You Know? Holi | Holi Pix | Makar Sankranti | Saraswati Pooja

Presidential Diwali | Diwali Recipes | Diwali Crafts | Diwali eCards | Holiday Tweets | Diwali Blog
Newsletter/Text Msg Advertise With Us | Link to Us | Contact Us | Site Map | Diwali Home

All images, animation, text, video, java, javascript, audio, html
© Copyright 1995-2016, Holidays on the Net
Reproduction or other use without written consent is illegal

Visit our other holiday celebrations

Sign up for Free Holiday Newsletters and Text Messages
Email Address:
We'll keep you informed of future Holidays on the Net Celebrations